National Award to Teachers

The national award to the Teachers, being awarded by the President of India on 5 September (Teacher’s Day) every year to give public recognition to meritorious teachers working in primary, middle and secondary schools in India. National Award to Teachers is the National award  Instituted in 1958,

It is the most acclaimed accolade in the area of education. It highlights & recognizes the quality and diversity of the educationalist across India who have achieved excellence by their significant contributions towards the education sector.

The award is bestowed to celebrate and recognize excellence in education and to highlight the positive impact of teachers and schools

The award  also covers teachers of the schools affiliated to CBSE (Central Board of Secondary Education ) including teachers of independent affiliated schools situated abroad, ICSCE, Sainik SchoolKVS, (Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan) JNVS(Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya), and schools run by the Atomic Energy Education Society. Few awards are reserved for the teachers teaching Sanskrit, Persian and Arabic.

‘Special Awards’ have been earmarked to teachers promoting integrated inclusive education in schools and promote the education of children with disabilities in regular schools by States/UTs and other school system since year 2021.

The teachers of following categories will be considered for award:

  • Teachers with disabilities working in regular schools.
  • Special teacher or trained general teachers who may have done outstanding work for Inclusive Education.

Selection Process:

The selection of the teacher is made by a State level Selection Committee/Central Award Committee presided over by Director (Education)/Head of the Organization with a nominee of the Union Government as a member. The names of the teachers as recommended by the Committee are forwarded by the State Government / Organizations in order of merit. The Government of India makes the final selection on the basis of merit.


The award carries a sliver medal, certificate, and INR 50,000/- as award money.

For the year 2022,HonourablePresident Ms. Droupadi Murmu has awarded 46 teachers with National Teachers Award for 2022 in an event hosted by Ministry of Education at Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi on September5. The top teachers were selected through a strict, open and online three stages selection process.

 Some of the winners of National Teachers Award 2022

 Winners States / UTs
 Sunitha Rao  Telangana
Santosh NathTripura
Khursheed AhmadUttar Pradesh
Kaustubh Chandra JoshiUttarakhand

For more details on the Awards, please visit the official website